For Candidates in New Jersey who have Passed the Uniform CPA Exam
CPA licensure in New Jersey requires the completion of ONE of the following options:
- At least 150 semester credit hours and a graduate degree with a concentration in accounting from an accredited educational institution.
- A graduate degree in business from an accredited school with either 24 undergraduate or 15 graduate-level semester credit hours in accounting including courses in financial accounting, managerial accounting, auditing and taxation or the equivalent combination of graduate and undergraduate-level courses (3:2 ratio).
- Baccalaureate degree with a concentration in either accounting or business with 24 semester credit hours each in both disciplines.
- Baccalaureate degree in any general subject area that must include at least 30 semester hours in accounting and 24 in business,
One year accounting experience supervised and verified by a CPA licensed in New Jersey.
Ethics Exam Requirement
All candidates for a CPA license must take the New Jersey Ethics Course either live or via webcast.
There is a $75.00 application fee for a New Jersey CPA license. Licenses must be renewed every two years.
Continuing Education Requirements
All active New Jersey CPAs are required to complete 120 hours of continuing professional education with every two-year license renewal.
The 120 hours must include 72 hours in technical subjects of which 24 must be in accounting and auditing, while four hours must be in New Jersey law and ethics.