For Candidates in New Jersey that have not Taken the Uniform CPA Exam
The New Jersey State Board of Accountancy operates under the authority of the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs. The 10-member Board regulates the practice of accountancy to ensure the competency, accuracy, integrity, fairness and reliability of certified public accountancy in New Jersey.
It is noted that although a candidate can sit for the uniform CPA exam with only a degree and 120 semester hours, CPA licensure in New Jersey requires 150 semester hours.
- Grand Canyon University - Bachelor's and Master's in Accounting
- SNHU - A.S. in Accounting, B.S. in Accounting, and M.S. in Accounting
- Capella University - BS Accounting CPA Pathway
- Capella University - MBA Accounting CPA Pathway
The two options that will satisfy the education requirements to sit for the Uniform CPA Exam in New Jersey are:
Baccalaureate degree with a minimum of 60 semester hours in general education requirements (English, history, sociology, math, physical or biological sciences, geography, political science, foreign language, fine arts, music, religion) PLUS a minimum of 60 hours that include:
- 24 semester hours in accounting to include municipal and government accounting
- Six semester hours each of business law, economics and finance
- 18 semester hours related to business subjects
Baccalaureate or higher degree with a total of at least 150 semester hours that include any ONE of the following:
- Graduate degree with a concentration in accounting from a school accredited by either AACSB (American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business) or ACBSP (Association of Collegiate Business Schools and Programs)
- Graduate degree from an AACSB or ACBSP accredited college or business school with at least 24 semester hours in undergraduate-level accounting courses OR 15 semester hours in graduate-level accounting courses including financial accounting, auditing, taxation and management accounting OR the equivalent combination of undergraduate and graduate-level courses.
- Baccalaureate degree from an accredited educational institution with at least 24 hours EACH of accounting courses and business courses other than accounting.
- Baccalaureate or graduate degree from a school that has been granted regional accreditation, completing 30 semester hours of accounting courses and 24 hours of non-accounting business courses
Applicants holding degrees granted by schools located outside the U.S. must have them evaluated by NASBA’s International Evaluation Services.
- At least 18 years of age
- Good moral character
- No residency requirement
New Jersey has both a registration fee and a unit fee for each of the four sections of the exam. The per-sitting registration fee depends on the number of sections being taken:
- All four sections – $115
- Three sections – $100
- Two sections – $85
- One section – $70
The per-section fees are as follows:
- Auditing and Attestation – $192.03
- Business Environment/Concepts – $172.51
- Finance Accounting/Reporting – $192.03
- Regulation – $172.51
Prometric administers the computerized Uniform CPA Exam in the following locations:
- Laurel Spring
Already passed the CPA Exam and looking for additional licensing requirements in New Jersey? – Click Here