For Applicants in New Mexico that have not Taken the Uniform CPA Examination
The New Mexico Public Accountancy Board, a division of the New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department, issues CPA licenses to qualified accountants and maintains practice guidelines and regulations as they relate to public accountancy in the state. The Board also sets professional and educational standards for CPAs practicing in the state.
To qualify to sit for the Uniform CPA Examination in New Mexico, applicants must hold a bachelor’s degree and have at least 150 semester hours of credit from a college or university acceptable to the New Mexico Public Accountancy Board.
Of these semester hours, at least 30 must be in accounting or audit-related courses (3 courses may be in business law), from a board-recognized educational institution.
Acceptable institutions must meet one of 3 levels of accreditation, as outline by the board:
- Level I: Accreditation is associated with a four-year, degree-granting college degree; the institution must be accredited by at least one of the following:
- Middle States Association of College and Secondary Schools
- New England Association of Schools and Colleges
- North Central Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools
- Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges
- Southern Association of Colleges and Schools
- Western Association of Schools and Colleges
- Accrediting Council for Independent Colleges and Schools
- Level II: Accreditation is associated with a business school or college or business; the institution must be accredited by a national accreditation agency recognized by the board
- Level III: Accreditation is associated with an accounting program or department; the program or department must be accredited by a national accreditation agency recognized by the board.
All education requirements must be completed before applicants can apply to take the examination.
To qualify to sit for the Uniform CPA Examination, applicants must also meet the following general requirements:
- Be of good moral character
- Be at least 18 years old
Note: There is no residency requirement in New Mexico.
All first-time applicants are required to pay both an application fee and an examination fee upon submission of their application to take the examination. The application fee is $160, and the examination fees are as follows:
- Auditing and Attestation: $192.03
- Business Environment and Concepts: $172.51
- Financial Accounting and Reporting: $192.03
- Regulation: $172.51
The registration fee is $85, regardless of how many examinations are scheduled at one time.
Applicants may take the Uniform CPA Exam at Prometric Testing Centers located in any of these cities:
- Santa Fe
- Las Cruces
Already passed the exam and looking for additional licensing requirements in New Mexico? – Click Here.