For Candidates in Rhode Island that have not Taken the Uniform CPA Exam
Rhode Island’s Board of Accountancy is a self-governing entity that issues licenses to all CPAs that intend to practice in the state. The Board regulates CPA professionals by:
- Processing applications
- Collecting fees
- Reviewing licensee conduct
- Investigating complaints made by the general public regarding accountancy issues
Applicants that have NOT completed 150 semester hours of education may still sit for the Uniform CPA Examination.
- Grand Canyon University - Bachelor's and Master's in Accounting
- SNHU - A.S. in Accounting, B.S. in Accounting, and M.S. in Accounting
- Capella University - BS Accounting CPA Pathway
- Capella University - MBA Accounting CPA Pathway
- Liberty University - Bachelor of Science in Accounting - ACBSP-Accredited
To qualify to sit for the exam, Rhode Island applicants must meet ONE of the following education requirements:
- A graduate degree in an accounting-related concentration. The degree must be conferred through a Board-approved program accredited by a recognized accrediting agency.
- A graduate degree conferred through a Board-approved program that is accredited in business by a recognized accrediting agency. Applicants that choose this option must also complete at least 24 semester hours of undergraduate accounting coursework OR 15 semester hours of graduate coursework OR an acceptable combination of both.
- A bachelor’s degree conferred through a Board-approved institution that is accredited by a recognized accrediting agency. Applicants that chose this option must also must also complete at least 24 semester hours of undergraduate or graduate-level accounting coursework AND at least 24 semester hours of undergraduate or graduate business coursework. Business courses must include at least 3 semester hours in business law AND 3 semester hours in economics.
The Rhode Island Board of Accountancy requires that accounting courses include:
- 6 semester hours in fundamental accounting AND intermediate financial recording and reporting
- 3 semester hours in advanced financial accounting and reporting
- 3 semester hours in tax accounting
- 3 semester hours in auditing
The first-time examination application fee in Rhode Island is $145. In addition, applicants must pay set fees for each examination section they intend to sit for. This fee schedule is:
- Auditing and Attestation – $192.03
- Business Environment and Concepts – $172.51
- Financial Accounting and Reporting – $192.03
- Regulation – $172.51
Prometric test centers in Rhode Island are located in:
Already passed the CPA Exam and looking for additional licensing requirements in Rhode Island? – Click Here