For Candidates in Florida that have not Taken the Uniform CPA Exam
Of the 72,810 active accountants and auditors working in Florida as of 2012, those licensed as CPAs enjoyed the distinction of having the highest earnings, according to the US Department of Labor.
The Florida State Board of Accountancy (BOA) determines the qualifications that must be met before taking the Uniform CPA exam and obtaining licensure.<!- mfunc search_btn -> <!- /mfunc search_btn ->
It is noted that only 120 credit hours are needed to sit for the CPA exam but 150 semester hours are required for licensure. Candidates must apply for a license within three years after passing the test or they must sit for the exam again.<!- mfunc feat_school ->
Applicants for the Uniform CPA exam in the Florida must hold a baccalaureate degree consisting of 120 semester (160 quarter) credit hours that include 24 semester (36 quarter) hour’s in upper-division accounting courses with at least three semester hours each in:
- Financial Accounting
- Cost Accounting
- Managerial Accounting
- Accounting Information Systems
In addition, 24 semester (36 quarter) hours of the required credits must include no less than six semester (eight quarter) hours each of the following business law courses:
- Contracts and tortes
- Uniform Commercial Code
In Florida the Uniform CPA Examination is only offered in May and November.
Florida has no age, citizenship or residency requirements to become licensed as a CPA.
The Uniform CPA Exam is divided into four sections; applicants may take one, two, three or four sections at one sitting. There is a separate fee for each section in addition to an initial application fee:
- Application fee $ 50.00
- Auditing and Attestation (AUD) $195.35
- Business Environment & Concepts (BEC) $176.25
- Finance Accounting & Reporting (FAR) $195.35
- Regulation (REG) $176.25
The computerized Uniform CPA exam is administered by Prometric, which has testing centers in the following Florida cities:
Already passed the exam and looking for additional licensing requirements in Florida? – Click Here.