• Find A Program

Kansas CPA Exam Requirements


For Candidates in Kansas that have not Taken the Uniform CPA Exam

The Kansas Board of Accountancy is made up of seven members appointed directly by the Kansas state Governor. It works closely with the Kansas Society of CPAs to make certain licensing and practice standards for CPAs in the state are being upheld.

Uniform CPA Exam applicants in Kansas apply through the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy after meeting the requirements set forth by the Kansas Board of Accountancy.

Education Requirements

CPA Exam applicants in Kansas are required to complete at least 150 semester hours (225 quarter hours) while earning at least a bachelor’s degree with the following credit breakdown:

*Accredited online master’s programs in accounting are helping to make the 150 semester hours required for a CPA license more accessible than ever. The AICPA recognizes Master of Science in Accounting programs as providing bachelor’s degree holders with the most direct path to earning the additional credit hours required for CPA licensure.

  • A minimum of 42 semester hours (63 quarter hours) must be complete in business and general education subjects including:
    • A minimum of two courses in legal business aspects or business law
    • Statistics and probability theory
    • Finance
    • Computer systems
    • Management and administration
    • Marketing
    • Production, quantitative techniques to business problems, or operations research
    • College algebra or an upper-level math class
    • Macro and microeconomics along with an additional upper-level economics course
  • A minimum of 11 semester hours (16.5 quarter hours) in oral and written communications classes
  • A minimum of 30 semester hours (45 quarter hours) in accounting that must include:
    • Accounting systems (must be upper-level)
    • Auditing
    • Financial accounting
    • Income tax
    • Managerial accounting (must be upper-level)

Education requirements do not need to be met to apply for the CPA exam, but they must be met before an exam can be scheduled

General Requirements

  • Official transcripts must be sent to CPAES from every college and university attended
    • Must be issued by the office of the Registrar
    • Must include the final degree conferred
  • Applicants must live in Kansas, have a public accountancy business in Kansas, or be employed full time with a public accounting firm licensed in Kansas in order to take the CPA exam in the state
  • There is no U.S. citizenship requirement to take the CPA exam in Kansas

Fee Requirements

The following fees must be paid before taking the CPA exam in Kansas:

  • Application fee – $145
  • Registration fee
    • If taking all four examination sections – $110
    • If taking three examination sections – $95
    • If taking two examination sections – $80
    • If taking one examination section – $65
  • Registration Fees
    • Auditing and Attestation (AUD) – $192.03
    • Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR) – $192.03
    • Business Environment and Concepts (BEC) – $172.51
    • Regulation (REG) – $172.51

Kansas has Prometric testing centers located in the following cities:

  • Topeka
  • Wichita
  • Overland Park
  • Hays

Already passed the CPA Exam and looking for additional licensing requirements in Kansas? – Click Here